SQL Server Configuration Manager SQL Server Services access error “remote procedure call failed[0x800706be]”

In My laptop I have multiple versions of SQL server installed like SQL Express 12, SQL 2008 Express and SQL server 2012,

so on my widows 8.1 machine when I goto start -> type SQL Server Configuration Manager in the search box I got the tool and opened in administrative mode

err11

 

after opening when I click on the SQL Server Services I get the error saying  remote procedure call failed[0x800706be]

err2

The issue was that My SQL server configuration manager was pointing to an older version of the service, hence I corrected it by following the below process and it worked great after wards.

Step 1: Open the SQL server configuration manager  location through Windows Start->type SQL server configuration manager ->right click->Open file location

err21

Step 2: Right click on the shortcut for SQL server configuration manager in the corresponding folder and open the properties window

err4

you notice that the shortcut is pointing to SQLServerManager10.msc

Spep 3: go to the path what the msc is physical located

err5

step 4: you will see their is a higher version of the same is present in my case SQLServerManager11.msc, so I changed the shortcut path to the latest version i.e. I changed target of the SQL configuration manager shortcut to as below

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\mmc.exe /32 C:\windows\SysWOW64\SQLServerManager11.msc

err51

 

step 5:After saving the above change I again opened the SQL Server Configuration manager from the windows start menu..and now I could see all the SQL server Services in it.

err6

 

 

Hope this post helps you…

 

 

This entry was posted in SQL 2012, Windows 8 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SQL Server Configuration Manager SQL Server Services access error “remote procedure call failed[0x800706be]”

  1. Srinivas says:

    Now running our sql server service, thanku

Leave a Reply

